Review

Turn Coat: Dresden Files 11

How dark can you go seems to be the growing theme of the Dresden Files. Not that I’m complaining of course. The bloody gore of the first books has developed into some really heart-stoppingly grim injuries and deaths over the years, but I never got all that much of a sense of Harry being affected by it. Sure, he was ill for a bit, but he got over it sharpish. I didn’t really think anything could phase him now to be honest. Oh boy was I wrong.

Turn Coat took Harry and I on one hell of a ride, visiting the horrors of the Nevernever on chapter then the hub of wizarding power the next. Not only that, but there’s a creeping horror stalking Harry’s every step, leaving him catatonic at just the sight of it and tearing strips out of his friends just for fun. Add that onto the most shocking first page of the entire series, and you’ve got a dark adventure you won’t be able to put down. Seriously, I read the whole book in one sitting.

“I like to stay cozy with my paranoia, not pass her around to my friends and family.” 

We’re back to the private detective style story with this entry, a welcome return honestly, and one which makes sure to include aspects from each earlier novel in some way. Be it visiting the White Court, the details of the Wardens, or going to the foreboding Demonreach. Each time it happens your reminded of just how big of a world Harry lives in, and how much you love every aspect of it.

The developments in this story are sure to be wide reaching over the subsequent tales of Dresden. From the massive revelations that come in the final chapters, to the smaller moments of character growth figures like the Merlin and Injun Joe get throughout, each line seems to be building for a massive, world-shattering event in the future. Even the way new takes on magic are introduced adds to this, what with the prevalence of Native American magic and culture in this adventure.

“I checked my gear, my pockets, my shoelaces, and realized that I had crossed the line between making sure I was ready and trying to postpone the inevitable.” 

So, in my usual meandering fashion, I’ve got to say this is a fantastic book. Thrilling and haunting, action packed and thoughtful. It takes the best of the world built up over the last 10 books and used them to their fullest. I only hope this meteoric rise in quality and stakes continues.

“You,” Madeline said, her voice hollow and wheezing, “are like a bad case of herpes, wizard. You’re inconvenient, embarassing, no real threat, and you simply will not go away.” 

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2o5oLyv

<-Small Favour: Dresden Files 10

Leave a Reply

